There were once four different subspecies of the Spanish Ibex. Only two survived.

The four subspecies are:

Victoria Ibex (Capra pyrenaica victoriae), aka Gredos Ibex

Hispanic Ibex (Capra pyrenaica hispanica), aka regionally known as Beceite Ibex, Ronda Ibex, Southeastern Spanish Ibex

Pyrenaen Ibex (Capra pyrenaica pyrenaica), aka Bucardo

Portuguese Ibex (Capra pyrenaica lusitanica), aka Mueyu


The last Portuguese Ibex was exterminated 1890, the last Pyrenean Ibex died 2000.