Kategorie: SpeciesSeite 2 von 11

Chartreuse Chamois (Rupicapra rupicapra cartusiana)

The Chartreuse Chamois is seen as a subspecies of the Alpine Chamois. It has a very small and isolated distribution range in the Chartreuse massif at the western edge of the French Alps.

Kharaulakh Snow Sheep (Ovis nivicola spp.)

The Kharaulakh Snow Sheep is a subspecies – not yet described -, most closely related to the Yakut Snow Sheep.

Bharal (Pseudois nayaur)

The Bharal – formerly known as Blue Sheep – is a goat-like caprid. It is designed for living in precipitous and rocky terrain and may well be one…

Helan Shan Bharal* (Pseudois nayaur ssp)

A small population in the Helan Shan (Helan Mountains, Ningxia Province, China) at the northeastern end of the distribution area of the Bharal is believed to belong to a new, yet…

Pamir Bharal* (Pseudois nayaur ssp)

The Pamir Bharal is a new (2017) putative subspecies of the Greater Bharal. It occurs at the western edge of the Bharal’s distribution range. Tan et al. (2017)…

Flare-horned Markhor (Capra falconeri falconeri)

According to Valdez (1982) the Astore tpye of the Flare-horned Markhor exhibits the most divergent and spectacular horns of all Markhor. Names In many languages the english term…

Heptner’s Markhor (Capra falconeri heptneri)

Body dimensions and weights given by Heptner (1966) suggest that the Heptner’s Markhor is one of the smaller Markhor phenotypes. Names English: Heptner’s Markhor, Turkmenian Markhor, Uzbek Markhor,…

Tibetan Bharal (Pseudois nayaur nayaur)

The Tibetan Bharal is the nominate form of the Bharal. Brian Houghton Hodgson described the species 1833. The type locality is the Kachar region of Nepal. Names English: …

Chinese Bharal (Pseudois nayaur szechuanensis)

Even though considered a bit smaller than the nominate race from Tibet, the Chinese Bharal with its wider flaring horns is maybe the most impressive subspecies of Bharal….

Iberian Ibex (Capra pyrenaica)

The Iberian Ibex is the most westerly form of the genus Capra [8]. Once there have been four subspecies. Only two are extant today.